Metropolitan Nashville Public Schools
The Academy at Hickory Hollow School Profile
   

 

Location
Address: 5248 Hickory Hollow Pkwy 
Nashville, TN 37013

School Contact

Phone: 615.687.4028
Website: http://www.academyhh.mnps.org

School Leadership
Principal:
Billy Fellman - william.fellman@mnps.org

School Counselor:
Charity Woods - charity.woods@mnps.org

Math Instructor:

Kathryn Murray - kathryn.murray@mnps.org

Science & Math Instructor:

Jessica Chapman - jessica.chapman@mnps.org

English Instructor:
Shacora Moore - shacora.moore@mnps.org

CTE Instructor: 
Terry Arrington - terry.arrington@mnps.org                       

EL & Foreign Language Instructor:

Laura Briggs - laura.briggs@mnps.org

A+ Lab Coordinator:

Kyle Russ - jamie.russ@mnps.org

Exceptional Education:
Julia Crowe - julia.crowe@mnps.org

Graduation Coach:

Syreeta Blakely - syreeta.bright@mnps.org

District 6 School Board Representative:
Cheryl Mayes

District 32 Metro Council Representative:
Jacobia Dowell

Facts About our School:
Number of Students: 130-200
Grade Served: 12
Required Credits for Graduation: 22.5
Year School Built: 2012
Square Footage: 6,500
School Hours: 8:30 - 3:30


What Our School Offers

  • The Academy is for students who prefer or need a non-traditional approach to complete requirements for a high school diploma.

  • We will provide the tools and resources for each student to be successful. 

  • Transportation is the responsibility of the student.

What Makes Our School Unique?

Mission: To produce a safe environment in which students are inspired to achieve success through an individualized plan that leads to graduation. Our goal is to develop productive citizens and celebrate their success.

The Academy provides an opportunity for students who dropped out of school in their senior year or are thinking about dropping out to get their diplomas within one year. No student should attend The Academy for more than one year.

We have an open campus for lunch.

We are a school of choice, meaning that our students choose to be here and choose to work hard.

Students are expected to attend school on a regular basis.

Each student will be treated as an adult.

Program Goals

To develop a relationship with each student
To assist each student to reach his/her goals
To recognize each student as a unique individual
To celebrate the success of each student
To develop a caring, respectful, safe and nurturing environment for everyone in the learning community

Who Attends Our School?

  • 17-21 years old who require 8 or fewer credits in the content area.

Application Process
Attending The Academy is by invitation only. In order to attend, you must apply. There are two ways to apply:

1. Fill out an online application here.
2. Come by in person and fill out an application.

 

PENCIL & Community Partners 

  • Al Cadenas Insurance
  • Angelo's Picnic Pizza
  • Bill Freeland Chevrolet Superstore
  • Itchin' for Stitchin' Embroidery & Silk Screening 
  • Oasis 
  • Marker Supply Company
  • Nelson Mazda
  • Simon Youth Foundation  
  • Ron's BBQ & Fish
  • State Farm Insurance (Bobby Allen)
  • Victor Chatman Production

 

 
 
  The Metropolitan Nashville Public Schools (MNPS) does not discriminate on the basis of race, color, national origin, age, sex, religion, or disability in admission to, access to, or operations of its programs, services, or activities. MNPS does not discriminate in its hiring or employment practices. 2009 - 2010  
 
 
Mail Icon