Metro Schools names more new principals, leaders

Metro Schools has named Dottie Critchlow, a highly-regarded lead principal, its new executive officer for Instructional Support with oversight of the district’s English Learners (EL) and Exceptional Education services. The district also announced new principals at Hickman, Julia Green, Tom Joy and Kirkpatrick elementary schools and the Academy at Old Cockrill. The 2013 -14 school year starts Thursday, Aug. 1.

Critchlow, formerly principal of Hickman Elementary, succeeds Dr. Linda DePriest, who is retiring.

“Dottie Critchlow is an exemplary principal and leader,” said Metro Schools’ Chief Academic Officer Jay Steele. “She understands the diverse needs of our students, including those who receive EL and exceptional education services. When we began looking for the perfect candidate for this position, Dottie was at the top of that list and I am very pleased to have her in this new role.”

Other appointments include:

  • Dr. Robin Cayce will replace Critchlow as principal of Hickman Elementary School. Cayce has been principal of Julia Green Elementary since 2011. Prior to joining Metro Schools, Cayce was a teacher and principal in Hamilton County.
  • Andy Davis has been named the new principal of Julia Green Elementary. Davis most recently served as assistant principal at Hunters Lane High and has children attending school in the Hillsboro cluster.
  • Sandra Moorman, principal of Kirkpatrick Elementary for the past three years, has been appointed principal of Tom Joy Elementary. Moorman formerly served as principal of Fall-Hamilton Elementary and worked as an elementary school supervisor in the district office.
  • Replacing Moorman at Kirkpatrick will be Dr. Mildred Nelson, who is returning to school leadership after serving as an elementary lead principal in the district office. She will serve as a lead principal for a group of district elementary schools. Nelson has served as principal of Cole Elementary, assistant principal at Whitsitt Elementary, classroom teacher and reading and program specialist.
  • Bill Warren, who played an instrumental role in building the model for the district’s three Academy schools, will take over as principal at the Academy at Old Cockrill and assume a lead principal position in the district. Warren worked for 33 years in Hamilton County as a teacher and principal. During that time he taught exceptional education students and developed numerous programs for at-risk youth in high school and middle school. He has worked as a consultant with Metro Schools for the past four years, and is the designer and developer of The Simon Youth Academies at Old Cockrill, Hickory Hollow, and Opry Mills. He has also served as a principal mentor in several high schools. Warren is replacing Elaine Fahrner, who is retiring.

“Elaine Fahrner has been a great leader and champion for students at Old Cockrill and all three of these academies,” said Dr. Jesse Register, MNPS director of schools. “Her retirement is a loss to the district. Bill has been involved in the creation, development and operation of the Academies at Old Cockrill, Opry Mills and Hickory Hollow since day one and I am excited he has agreed to join us full-time.”

All those announced today assumed their new positions today, July 1.