Saluting Excellence: National Merit Scholars in Metro Schools

UPDATE TO THE UPDATE TO THE UPDATE: Four more winners! These students have won college-sponsored National Merit Scholarships. This is a special scholarship given through the National Merit organization, but sponsored by an individual university.

The winners:

  • Raktima Datta of Hume-Fogg - University of Alabama at Birmingham
  • Melissa Guo of MLK - Washington University in St. Louis
  • Melenka Reed of Hillsboro - Indiana University
  • Noel Warford of Hume-Fogg - Oberlin College

This bring the grand totals to:

  • Eight National Merit Scholarship Winners
  • Three National Achievement Scholarship Winners

We're beaming with pride for these students. Can you tell?

UPDATE TO THE UPDATE: We have another winner!

Daniel Carr of Hume-Fogg Academic Magnet High School won the National Merit University of Alabama Scholarship! This is a special scholarship given through the National Merit organization, but sponsored by an individual university.

From the official release:

Officials of each sponsor college selected their scholarship winners from among the Finalists in the 2013 National Merit Scholarship Program who plan to attend their institution. These awards provide between $500 and $2,000 annually for up to four years of undergraduate study at the institution financing the scholarship.

UPDATE: We have the winners!

Give a great big congratulations and round of applause to these students, our very own National Merit Scholarship winners!

National Merit Scholarship Winners

  • Joseph Hwang, Hume-Fogg
  • Aditya M. Gudibanda, Hume-Fogg
  • Abhinav Goyal, Hume-Fogg

National Achievement Scholarship Winners

  • Rukayat F. Adeyemo, Hume-Fogg
  • Mustapha F. Williams, MLK
  • Jeremy Capps, Hume-Fogg

We are thrilled to have 15 finalists for the National Merit Scholarship in our high schools.

This is a major achievement, with these students competing against 1.5 million students across the country for a few coveted spots.

The National Merit Scholarship is given only to students who take the Preliminary SAT in high school, which is not required of Metro students. Scores on the PSAT are the determining factor in who is selected and who is not.

Our finalists are:

  • Claire B. - Hume-Fogg
  • Lauren B. - MLK
  • Daniel C. - Hume-Fogg
  • Raktima D. - Hume-Fogg
  • Abhi G. - Hume-Fogg
  • Aditya G. - Hume-Fogg
  • Melissa G. - MLK
  • Cameron H. - Hume-Fogg
  • Joseph H. - Hume-Fogg
  • Jackson M. - Hume-Fogg
  • Kelsey M. - Hume-Fogg
  • Zoe M. - Hume-Fogg
  • Melenka R. - Hillsboro
  • Noel W. - Hume-Fogg
  • Jenny Z. - MLK

Just 15,000 students in the U.S. make it to the finalist stage, so give these students a hand. We are very proud of these students, and their hard work deserves recognition. They are among the best and brightest in the entire nation.