Saluting Excellence: 16 National Merit Finalists in Metro Schools

Give it up! These 16 Metro students are finalists for the National Merit Scholarship - one of the most prestigious awards you can win in high school.

  • Nathan Daniel - Hume-Fogg
  • Qiaozhi Guo - Hume-Fogg
  • Coleridge Hausen - Hume-Fogg
  • Chandler Hawkins - Hume-Fogg
  • Owen LeGrone - Hume-Fogg
  • Sarah Orkin - Hume-Fogg
  • Elizabeth Smith - Hume-Fogg
  • Ivan Velkovsky - Hume-Fogg
  • Tiannan Zhou - Hume-Fogg
  • Zheer Ahmed - MLK
  • Jerrod Attias - MLK
  • Samihah Islam - MLK
  • Janie Liu - MLK
  • Shu Zhang - MLK
  • Benjamin Demonbreun - Overton
  • Alexandra Cox - McGavock

Competing against 1.5 million students in the country, there are just 15,000 National Merit Finalists. They have scored among the highest in the state on the PreSAT. Less than one percent of U.S. high school seniors make it, and 16 of them come from Metro Schools.

The National Merit Scholarship is given only to students who take the Preliminary SAT in high school, which is not required of Metro students. Scores on the PSAT are the determining factor in who is selected and who is not.