Saluting Excellence: Five Metro students win the National Achievement Scholarship

Congratulations to five students from Hume-Fogg and MLK for winning the National Achievement Scholarship! This honor - a sister prize to the National Merit Scholarship - is given to African American students across the country based on P-SAT and SAT scores, high academic performance, an essay and a recommendation.

Join us in patting these students on the back for a job well done and earning a few bucks for college:

  • Oge Onuh - MLK
  • Brennan Steele - MLK
  • Regina Tisdale - MLK
  • Natan Dumessa - Hume-Fogg
  • Madison Orozco - Hume-Fogg

From the National Merit Scholarship Corporation:

The National Achievement Scholarship Program is a privately financed academic competition established in 1964 specifically to honor scholastically talented Black American youth and to provide scholarships to a substantial number of the most outstanding participants in each annual competition. By the conclusion of the 2014 program, which marks the 50th annual competition, about 33,400 participants will have received scholarships for undergraduate study worth more than $105 million. The program is conducted by National Merit Scholarship Corporation, a not-for-profit organization that operates without government assistance.