Saluting Excellence: National Merit Scholars in Metro Schools

We are proud to announce three National Merit Scholars in Metro Schools. These three students have won one of the nation's top academic honors.

  • Janie Liu - Martin Luther King, Jr. Magnet School
  • Shu Zhang - Martin Luther King, Jr. Magnet School
  • Tiannan Zhou - Hume-Fogg Magnet School

Just 2,500 high school students in the country are chosen for this award out of a pool of 1.5 million. It comes with a $2,500 scholarship to the college of their choice. It's given only to students who take the PSAT, a test most Metro students do not take.

Here is more information on the award and the criteria used for selection from the National Merit Scholarship Corporation:

National Merit $2500 Scholarship winners are the Finalists in each state judged to have the strongest combination of accomplishments, skills, and potential for success in rigorous college studies. The number of winners named in each state is proportional to the state’s percentage of the nation’s graduating high school seniors.

These Scholars were selected by a committee of college admissions officers and high school counselors, who appraised a substantial amount of information submitted by both the finalists and their high schools: the academic record, including difficulty level of subjects studied and grades earned; scores from two standardized tests; contributions and leadership in school and community activities; an essay written by the Finalist; and a recommendation written by a high school official.

Earlier this year, five Metro students won the related National Achievement Scholarship, which is given to high achieving African-American students.

Congratulations to all of these students! We are so proud of the Class of 2014!

Read more about the stellar accomplishments of the Class of 2014.

Previously: 16 National Merit Finalists in Metro Schools