Saluting Excellence: 4 National Achievement Scholarship winners in Metro Schools

Congratulations to four students from Hume-Fogg and MLK for winning the National Achievement Scholarship! This honor is given by the same people who give the National Merit Scholarship. African American students across the country earn it based on P-SAT and SAT scores, high academic performance, an essay and a recommendation. Only 800 of them were given out across the country this year.

We are very proud of these students!

  • Kami Dyer - Hume-Fogg
  • Bryan Okelo - MLK
  • Annan J. Timon - Hume-Fogg
  • David L. Tyus - Hume-Fogg

From the National Merit Scholarship Corporation:

The National Achievement Scholarship Program is a privately financed academic competition established in 1964 specifically to honor scholastically talented Black American youth and to provide scholarships to a substantial number of the most outstanding participants in each annual competition. By the conclusion of the 2014 program, which marks the 50th annual competition, about 33,400 participants will have received scholarships for undergraduate study worth more than $105 million. The program is conducted by National Merit Scholarship Corporation, a not-for-profit organization that operates without government assistance.