Categories: ,

Saluting Excellence: Celebrate all Metro Schools graduates, valedictorians and salutatorians

With less than a week to go until graduation ceremonies begin, students, families and teachers across Nashville are preparing to celebrate the outstanding achievements of every Metro Schools graduate. There will be 26 ceremonies held in arenas, school auditoriums, college campuses and even the Grand Ole Opry house in a two-week period, April 12-26.

IMPORTANT: Due to forecasted rain, Stratford STEM Magnet High School has moved its graduation to the TSU Gentry Center. See the full graduation schedule with dates, times and locations for each school.

In addition to the honor of receiving a high school diploma, most schools will also honor the top performing students of each graduating class. The 2015 Valedictorians and Salutatorians are:

School Valedictorian Salutatorian
Antioch High School Nardeen Samih Fayik Dina M. Mikaiel
Cane Ridge High School Merna Auype El Sols Marina Ramzy
East Nashville Magnet School Jostyn Hodges Katherine Climaco Benitez
Glencliff High School Elizabeth Narvaez-Vega Abdel Kareem Moadi
Hillsboro High School Alex Jolly Leah Daniel
Hillwood High School Heaven Anhalt Kenan Sakic
Hume-Fogg Magnet High School Kathryn Elizabeth Pickrell Madison Leigh Cuthbertson
Hunters Lane High School Kallen Shea Donaghey Virginia Cruz Victorio
LEAD Academy High School Antonio Onwu Victoria Stafford
Maplewood High School David Medina Jevonna Nicole Holbert
Martin Luther King, Jr. Magnet School Bushra Rahman Camron Shirkhodaie
McGavock High School Christopher Harris Taylor III Allison Paige Woomer
MNPS Middle College High School Naba Saleh Al-Akashi Eva Maria Thomason
MNPS Virtual School Madeline Ruth Milam Murphy Lexie Amber Nance
Nashville Big Picture High School DeWanna Andrea Williams DiKaysia M. Buchanan
Nashville School of the Arts Sophia Regina Allison &Allison Morgan Ullein Jenise Krisstarrah Williams
Overton High School Catherine Elizabeth English Maylan Daniel Mehus
Pearl-Cohn Entertainment Magnet High School Darryl Lamont Harris, Jr. Adrian Jaques Prather
Stratford STEM Magnet High School Nazje Tanae Mansfield Hong Sheng Shi
Whites Creek High School Joanna Brooke Yant Adriana Nichole Buchanan

Next week, the Board of Education will honor these students, as well as those who have earned even more academic distinctions this year, at the annual Salute to Excellence. Student achievements include perfect scores on the ACT, National Merit Scholarship Finalists and even one student with 13 years of perfect attendance, kindergarten through graduation.

Salute to Excellence Tuesday, May 12, 2015 at 4:00 p.m. Metro Schools’ Board Room 2601 Bransford Avenue, 37204