Saluting Excellence: The School for Science and Math at Vanderbilt Class of 2015

The 2015 class of SSMV, with Virginia Shepherd, director of the Center for Science Outreach and professor of pathology, microbiology and immunology at Vanderbilt, at center. (Vanderbilt)

Graduation season is almost done, and there's one ceremony that happened two weeks ago you might not know about. But you definitely should.

On May 9, the School for Science and Math at Vanderbilt (SSMV) held its fifth commencement exercises. Together with their families, friends and community members, 23 graduates from four Metro Schools celebrated completion of the four-year honors program - one of the top high school science and math programs in the country.

Dr. Sharon Gentry, chair of the Metro Nashville Board of Education, was a distinguished guest and speaker. Dr. Jesse Register, director of Metro Nashville Public Schools, gave the commencement address.

These students are all headed to college this fall. Just take a look at this impressive list of graduates and their intended colleges: 

  • Fenan D. Debesai, Hume-Fogg Magnet, Davidson College
  • Kelsey G. Driscoll, Hume-Fogg Magnet, Claremont McKenna College
  • Catherine Elizabeth English, Overton High School, Vanderbilt University
  • Valeria A. Garcia Lopez, Hume-Fogg Magnet, Centre College
  • Evan B. Gordon, Hume-Fogg Magnet, Reed College
  • Varik Sevion Harris, Hume-Fogg Magnet, Reed College
  • Mayra Garitzia Hernandez, Hume-Fogg Magnet, Brigham Young University-Provo
  • Nhung Tuyet Thi Hoang, Overton High School, Swarthmore College
  • Isaac Ige, Martin Luther King, Jr. Magnet, University of Tennessee, Knoxville
  • Andriana D’an Johnson, Martin Luther King, Jr. Magnet, Vanderbilt University
  • Alex Steven Jolly, Hillsboro High School, Vanderbilt University
  • Elizabeth MacPherson, Hillsboro High School, Loyola University, New Orleans
  • Arturas Malinauskas, Hume-Fogg Magnet, Northwestern University
  • Xena E. McDonald, Overton High School, University of Tennessee, Knoxville
  • Maylan Daniel Mehus, Overton High School, Haverford College
  • Dheeraj S. Namburu, Martin Luther King, Jr. Magnet, Brown University
  • Susannah E. Price, Martin Luther King, Jr. Magnet, Washington University in St. Louis
  • Samuel A. Rafter, Martin Luther King, Jr. Magnet, Northeastern University
  • Efrain I. Salazar, Martin Luther King, Jr. Magnet, Brigham Young University-Idaho
  • Able Shi, Martin Luther King, Jr. Magnet, Vanderbilt University
  • Camron M. Shirkhodaie, Martin Luther King, Jr. Magnet, Vanderbilt University
  • Cochran Gray Tettleton, Hume-Fogg Magnet, University of Tennessee, Knoxville
  • Yae Eun Yang, Hume-Fogg Magnet, Johns Hopkins University

The School for Science and Math at Vanderbilt is a joint venture between Vanderbilt University and Metro Schools. The SSMV offers high school students a four-year, interdisciplinary, research-centered learning experience at one of the nation’s most prestigious universities, where internationally recognized faculty are leading the way in diverse fields of scientific study.

The School for Science and Math at Vanderbilt is supported in part by a National Institutes of Health NCRR Science Education Partnership Award, by Vanderbilt University and by Metro Schools.