Glencliff, NSA, Hume-Fogg & MLK: Here are Metro Schools' 16 National Merit Finalists

NationalMeritFinalists-HUMEFOGG.jpg Several Metro Schools students were recently named National Merit Finalists:

Hume-Fogg Magnet High School:  Arthur Eff, David Feng, Varun Gudibanda, Adella Kuster, Caleb Obregon, Jacob Vest and Jonathan Warkentin

Glencliff High School: Davis Truong

Nashville School of the Arts: Blake Skelton

MLK National Merit Scholars

Martin Luther King Magnet School: Matthew Bray, Elom Dumenyo, Lillian Ekem, Alexander Staggs, Tahj Starr, April Townson and Xiuya Yao.

To become a Finalist, a Semifinalist had to have an outstanding academic record, be endorsed and recommended by a high school official, write an essay and earn SAT scores that confirm the student’s earlier performance on the PSAT.

About 1.5 million juniors entered the 2015-2016 National Merit Scholarship Program by taking the 2014 Preliminary SAT/National Merit Scholarship Qualifying Test (PSAT/NMSQT), which serves as the initial screen of program entrants. From this list comes the nationwide pool of Semifinalists, representing approximately 1 percent of U.S. high school seniors, and includes the highest scoring entrants in each state.

From the group of more than 15,000 Finalists, the National Merit Scholarship Corporation will select approximately 7,400 Merit Scholarship recipients between April and July.

For more information about the National Merit Scholarship program, click here.