Metro Schools Select Teachers of the Year for 2016-17

TOY2015-16_Banner_v3 Metro Schools is proud to announce the official slate of our Teachers of the Year for 2016.

These 140 teachers, one from every district-managed school, are chosen by their colleagues and principals as the epitome of a model educator. This year, one winner and two runners-up will be selected from each tier – elementary, middle and high – for district-wide honors. All Teachers of the Year nominees are celebrated at a banquet in May.

“This group of teachers represent the best of the best in Nashville,” said Interim Director of Schools Chris Henson. “They are the full package– not only do these teachers perform well with academic scores, they are highly respected as individuals and truly inspire their students and colleagues. We are fortunate to have gifted educators like these in our city.”

Every spring one top teacher from each Metro School is selected as a Teacher of the Year for that school. The Teacher of the Year program provides recognition to teachers on a district, regional, state and national level. To select the district-wide winners, teachers are scored on all characteristics of a well-rounded educator including relationship with students, leadership and overall academic performance of students.

All school-level winners will be honored on May 3 with a banquet at Lipscomb University’s Allen Arena. At the ceremony, three winners will be named. From there, the teachers will move on to the state Teacher of the Year competition with the potential to advance to the National Teacher of the Year in 2017.

Principals of the Year and a new award, Substitute of the Year, will also be announced at the May 3 event.

These are the top teachers for each tier, from which the winner and runners-up will be chosen:


  • Kelly Carey, fourth grade teacher at A.Z. Kelley Elementary
  • Danielle Jones, second grade teacher at Stratton Elementary
  • Kimberly Carter , pre-k teacher at Charlotte Park Elementary


  • Sandy Irwin, sixth grade teacher at Bellevue Middle Prep
  • Maritza Herod, fifth grade teacher at Haynes Middle Prep
  • Julie Martin-Walker, Encore teacher at Robertson Academy


  • Clay Meachum, health life wellness teacher at Hunters Lane High School
  • Laura Vignon, social studies teacher at McGavock High School
  • Avril Syes, English teacher at Martin Luther King Jr. Magnet High School

Click here to view the complete list of all school-level Teachers of the Year, or view below:

[scribd id=309618944 key=key-Yf1OHuR3rVg2GTXjRzoQ mode=scroll]