Metro Schools Announces District-Wide Teachers of the Year

IMG_3660 Nashville’s Teachers of the Year were honored and the top awards were announced at a dinner banquet held last night at Lipscomb University’s Allen Arena. In all, 140 Metro schools selected a Teacher of the Year to represent their faculty. Each teacher was chosen by colleagues and school leadership, the individuals who witness their hard work and dedication to education daily. One winner and two runners up were chosen as finalists from elementary, middle and high for the district. The name of the overall winner from each tier was kept secret until last night’s ceremony.

The teachers who received the district’s top honors:

Elementary School Teacher of the Year Danielle Jones, Stratton Elementary

Middle Prep Teacher of the Year Sandy Irwin, Bellevue Middle Prep

High School Teacher of the Year Clay Meacham, Hunters Lane High

Vanessa Garcia, the Interim Chief of Leadership and Learning spoke on the importance of having a special night for all the nominees, “We are so proud of all of our teachers. This is a big deal, and they should all take great pride in their accomplishments. This event is a chance to relax and celebrate with their colleagues across the district. It was a room full of so many talented and passionate individuals.”

Next in the state and national Teacher of the Year competition, judges will select nine finalists. Each of those nine finalists will participate in interviews for Tennessee Teacher of the Year this summer. In August, those finalists will be interviewed and three Grand Division Teachers of the Year will be selected. One of the three will be named Tennessee Teacher of the Year. The banquet to announce the Tennessee Teacher of the Year is expected to take place in October.

Teachers were not the only Metro Schools’ employees recognized last night—Principals of the Year and Substitutes of the Year were also celebrated. One principal and substitute from each tier level were honored.

Principals of the Year

  • James Urquart, Norman Binkley Elementary
  • Barbara Maultsby-Springer, Croft Middle Prep
  • Shuler Pelham, Hillsboro High

Substitutes of the Year

  • Rachel Johnson, Elementary
  • Joe Peters, Middle
  • Gayle Graening, High

Congratulations to all of the 2016-17 winners. Read the complete finalist list here.

View photos from the event below: