Swearing-in ceremony marks new term for Board of Education representatives

The Metro Schools Board of Education held a swearing-in ceremony at its Sept. 6 board meeting. The ceremony marks the beginning of a term for the newly elected board member and affirms the roles and responsibilities for all board representatives. 1.jpg

The ceremony welcomed a new member to the Board: Christiane Buggs, District 5. Buggs is succeeding Elissa Kim, who had decided not to run for re-election.

Four returning members also renewed their relationships: Dr. Sharon Gentry, District 1; Jill Speering, District 3; Will Pinkston, District 7; and Amy Frogge, District 9.

The oaths were administered by Judge Rachel Bell and Judge Shelia Calloway. Dr. Shawn Joseph and other Board members were also in attendance.