Change in Our High School Exam Exemption Policy

We would like inform you about changes to the policy on high school exam exemptions. Starting immediately, the way students qualify for being exempt from final exams will be different from previous years. 

There are two major ways students can be eligible for exam exemptions. Each of these requirements must be met on a course-by-course basis. 

  • Seniors
    For each course, seniors in high school will be eligible for exemption if they meet the following requirements.
    • Attendance – A student must not miss more than three classes on block schedule or six classes on traditional schedule. 
    • Grades – A student must have a minimum semester average of 90 in the course.
    • Discipline – A student must not have been suspended or expelled during the semester.
    • End-of-Course Test – A student cannot be exempt from exams in courses that require a state End-of-Course or TNReady test.
  • Grades 9-12
    Any student in grades 9-12 who is enrolled in advanced academic courses may take the associated exam as an alternate to the teacher’s second semester exam. For example, a student who takes an AP test or IB exam can be exempt from the teacher’s final exam. This applies to:
    • Advanced Placement (AP)
    • International Baccalaureate (IB)
    • Cambridge AICE
    • College dual enrollment or dual credit

Seniors who are eligible for exemption cannot be required to take an exam. However, if the student chooses to take the exam, the grade must be counted. 

For any student who is exempt from a final exam, the two nine-week grades from that semester will be averaged together to make up the semester grade. 

Students who are not eligible for exemption and who do not take the semester exam for that course will receive the lowest possible grade. 

If you have additional questions, please contact the Family Information Center by calling (615) 259-INFO (4636), emailing or using the live chat feature on