CMA Foundation honors Metro Schools music educators

26363346534_47530e5355_o.jpg Congratulations to 25 Metro Schools educators who were named 2017 CMA Music Teachers of Excellence by the CMA Foundation.

This award recognizes music educators who are making an impact through music in their classrooms and school communities. The honorees will receive $2,500 from the CMA Foundation in recognition of their work for their students and school's music programs. The Foundation will also provide a matching grant of an additional $2,500 for each school music program.

“The CMA Foundation is committed to proactively addressing the challenges music education programs face, and there is no more meaningful or efficient way to do that than to honor these top music educators who are on the front lines, consistently making a difference in their students’ lives,” said Joe Galante, CMA Foundation Chairman.


The 2017 CMA Music Teachers of Excellence honorees are:

Jennifer Barnes (Lockeland Design Center) Emily Biederstadt (Sylvan Park Paideia Design Center) Rita Black (Eakin Elementary School) Christopher Blackmon (Thomas Edison Elementary School) M. Jennifer Burton (Cane Ridge Elementary School) Mark Hale (Mt. View Elementary School) Kathy Hart (Harpeth Valley Elementary School) Daniel Hayes (Granbery Elementary School) John Hazlett (McGavock High School) Kathy Hull (Hull-Jackson Montessori Magnet School) Ira Jacobs (Head Middle Magnet Prep) Kevin Jankowski (Oliver Middle School) Julie Jolly (West End Middle School) Lisa Kemp (Haywood Elementary School) Melissa McClaran (Cane Ridge Elementary School) Anna Maria Miller (Hume-Fogg Academic Magnet High School/Martin Luther King Academic Magnet School) Franklin Norris (Meigs Academic Magnet School) Rebecca Pearson (Norman Binkley Elementary School) Roberta Rodgers (Glendale Elementary School) Alaina Schwartz (Crieve Hall Elementary School) Matthew Taylor (Meigs Academic Magnet School) Elizabeth Voltz, Ed. D. (Creswell Middle Prep School of the Arts) Paul Waters (Bellevue Middle School) Susan Waters (Oliver Middle School) John Womack (McGavock High School)

These educators will be honored during a celebratory dinner on Wednesday, April 26 at Nissan Stadium. The event will be hosted by five-time CMA Vocal Group of the Year Little Big Town.