Fourteen Metro Schools Named 2017 Reward Schools

Education Commissioner Candice McQueen recently announced Tennessee's 2017 Reward schools, which includes the top five percent of schools for academic achievement and the top five percent for student growth.

Fourteen Metro Schools were included in the list:

  • Meigs Magnet Middle Prep
  • Hume-Fogg Magnet High School
  • Martin Luther King Jr. Magnet School
  • East End Prep
  • Glendale Elementary School
  • Lockeland Elementary School
  • Percy Priest Elementary School
  • Purpose Prep
  • Rose Park Middle School
  • New Vision Academy
  • Cameron College Prep
  • KIPP Nashville Collegiate High School
  • LEAD Prep Southeast
  • KIPP Nashville College Prep

“These schools represent what is possible for students in Tennessee as they exemplify excellence in performance or progress and in some cases, both,” Commissioner McQueen said in a release. “We want to replicate this success across the state and continue to celebrate the hard work of our educators and students happening in classrooms every day.”

Of the 2017 Reward schools, 59 are being recognized for performance, 85 are recognized for progress, and 25 schools are Reward schools both for performance and progress. The complete list of Reward schools can be viewed on the department’s website.

In addition to recognizing Reward schools, Commissioner McQueen also named schools that have improved and earned their way off of the Priority or Focus school lists. Metro Schools had three schools on those lists: Inglewood Elementary School (Priority Improving), Whitsitt Elementary School (Priority Improving) and Shayne Elementary School (Focus Improving).