MNPS Celebrates Teachers of the Year

Metro Nashville Public Schools hosted its annual Teacher of the Year Ceremony, a special event that signifies the close of another successful school year and honors those teachers who went above and beyond to make a successful year possible. The event was held April 30 at Lipscomb University.

Dr. Adrienne Battle, interim director of schools, and Dr. Sharon Gentry, chair of the Metropolitan Nashville Board of Education, opened the event with a message of gratitude to teachers, families and administrators. Vicki Yates, anchor at NewsChannel 5, hosted the event for the 13th year.

The Teacher of the Year award is peer-nominated. More than 130 educators were nominated, one from each school, by their fellow co-workers and principals for representing what it means to be a great teacher in MNPS. These teachers are recognized for having a superior ability to teach and to inspire a love of learning in students, among other qualities. Three Teachers of the Year were selected as finalists for each tier. From there, the district selects one district-wide recipient for each tier:

This year’s district-wide Teacher of the Year Recipients: 

·         Elementary: Jessie Rodriguez, Thomas Edison Elementary School

·         Middle: Mary Manley, Harris-Hillman Special Education School

·         High: David Roney, Pearl-Cohn Entertainment Magnet High School

This year’s Teacher of the Year runners-up are:

Elementary Tier:

·         Katrina Fernandez, Cane Ridge Elementary School

·         Laura Judd, Ivanetta H. Davis Early Learning Center at Bordeaux

Middle School:

·         Megan Ellsworth, West End Middle School

·         Parris Malone, John Early Middle School

High School:

·         Jamie Arendall, Martin Luther King, Jr. Magnet School (9-12)

·         Laura Clark-Briggs, The Academy at Hickory Hollow

In addition to recognizing classroom teachers, the district also recognized three Principals of the Year and Substitutes of the Year. Those recipients are:

Substitutes of the Year:

·         Dorothy Acklin, Elementary School Tier

·         Asia Ellison, Middle School Tier

·         Kathy Cunningham, High School Tier

Principals of the Year:

·         Dr. Ann-Marie Gleason, Harpeth Valley Elementary School

·         Dr. Kisha Stinson-Cox, Margaret Allen Middle School

·         Dr. James Witty, MNPS Virtual School

View the entire list of Teachers of the Year here.

Please join us in congratulating these educators!