Announcing our 2019 Blue Ribbon Teachers

Today, Metro Nashville Public Schools joins the Nashville Public Education Foundation and Nashville’s Agenda Steering Committee in celebrating this year’s selection of Blue Ribbon Teachers! 

In its fifth year, the Blue Ribbon Teacher program aims to recognize top teaching talent in our schools. This year, we’re celebrating fifty exceptional educators who are doing outstanding work in one of three areas: student growth, instructional excellence and teacher leadership. Blue Ribbon Teachers will be honored at a reception at Vanderbilt in June. 

Find the full list of recipients below– and join us in celebrating this incredible achievement!

Blue Ribbon Teacher


Abby Upperman Cameron College Prep
Andrea Fuller John B. Whitsitt ES
Brenleigh Loiselle Gower ES
Chad Prather Pearl Cohn HS
Christopher Martin Meigs Magnet MS
Crystal Noelle Hicks Robert Churchwell
Danielle Stein Julia Green ES
David Meredith JT Moore MS
David Myers JT Moore MS
Hannah Strickland Charlotte Park ES
Janai Shelton John F. Kennedy MS
Janet S. Malone Norman Binkley ES
Jena Galster John Overton HS
Jennifer Broeder William Henry Oliver MS
Jessi Fallen Westmeade ES
Jessica Taylor Sexton Hume-Fogg HS
Kelly Carey A. Z. Kelley ES
Kent Messner Crieve Hall ES
Krista Kiningham Antioch MS
Kristen Britt Cane Ridge ES
Laura Clark Briggs The Academy at Hickory Hollow
Laura A. Vignon McGavock HS
Leigh Vail John B. Whitsitt ES
Libby Targett Goodlettsville MS
Macie Garrett East End Prep
Malorie Crafton LEAD Prep Southeast
Minor Moore Westmeade ES
Monica Whitaker DeMartino Tusculum ES
Natalie Boyd Hume-Fogg HS
Nikki Sharrunn Rhone Bellshire ES
Nita Smith Creswell MS
Olivia Rodney Rosebank ES
Paige Pennigar LEAD Prep Southeast
Qiana Naugles Old Center ES
Rebecca J. Hughes Tom Joy ES
Rebecca Todd Zachary Cora Howe School
Ryan Olivia MacDonald LEAD Prep Southeast
Sabrina Hughes-Tate Antioch MS
Samantha Bueter May Werthan Shayne ES
Stacy Ray A. Z. Kelley ES
Stella White Tom Joy ES
Stephanie Holcombe Henry C Maxwell ES
Tara Colwart Croft MS
Tara Tyus Una ES
Tia Tate Old Center ES
Tina M. Atkinson Percy Priest ES
Tova Rivera A. Z. Kelley ES
Vince Greenwald East Nashville Magnet HS
Whitney Monique Graham STRIVE Collegiate Academy
Zach Williams LEAD Prep Southeast