Teachers of the Year

"You Meet the Moment Every Day": MNPS Celebrates Teachers, Principals and Support Employees of the Year
Posted on 04/12/2022
Teacher Kristin Britt receives her Teacher of the Year Award

It was a big night in downtown Nashville on Monday, April 11 – and not just because of the CMT Awards.

Hundreds of Metro Schools teachers, principals and support staff – and many supportive family members and loved ones – gathered Monday night at the Music City Center to celebrate the excellent teaching, leadership and dedication of MNPS employees. Teacher of the Year Kristen Britt

MNPS leaders Christiane Buggs, the chair of the Board of Education; Rachael Anne Elrod, the vice chair, and Director of Schools Dr. Adrienne Battle opened the night in celebration of more than 130 teachers of the year from each school and the MNPS Teacher of the Year in each tier:

Elementary Schools

Kristen Britt, kindergarten teacher, Cane Ridge Elementary

Middle Schools

Kirsten McGlone, music teacher, Apollo Middle

High Schools

Kristin Butler, theater teacher, Hillsboro High

From that extremely accomplished group, Kristen Britt of Cane Ridge Elementary School was honored as the overall MNPS Teacher of the Year.

"I love teaching in the classroom, and I love teaching kindergarten, and I get to come into school every day and see their smiling faces,” Britt said in a video interview after the finalists were announced earlier this year. “They are so enthusiastic, they’re so eager to learn, and it makes me so happy that I get to instill this learning in them.

“They come to school at the beginning of the year, and most of them haven’t even been in school before, and I get to teach them a love of reading books and building relationships and building that sense of community.” 

Dr. Battle thanked all the winning teachers, support employees and principals who were honored for the impact they have on students and families. Dr. Battle and two teachers

“No matter what role you play in our district, you are putting your heart and soul into it every day,” she said. “Your commitment, your drive, your compassion, your flexibility – all of it matters so much to the success of our students.

“We ask you to make sure Every Student is Known, and you meet the moment every day. We are so fortunate to have you in our district and in our schools.”

Finalists by Tier

From more than 130 teachers of the year, only 11 were chosen as finalists across the three tiers of schools:

Elementary School Finalists
  • Kristen Britt, Cane Ridge Elementary School
  • Joye Bryant,  A.Z. Kelley Elementary School
  • Kimberly Davidson, Amqui Elementary School
  • Norma Yoos, Gower Elementary School
Middle School Finalists
  • Kirsten McGlone, Apollo Middle School
  • Sik Ching Tomas Yan Melo, Antioch Middle School
  • Ashley Seigal, Croft Middle School
High School Finalists
  • Kristin Butler, Hillsboro High School
  • Zach Fox, Martin Luther King Jr. Magnet High School
  • Alesha Handy, Hume-Fogg Magnet High School
  • William Jackson, East Nashville Magnet High School

Metro Schools also celebrated Support Employees and Principals of the Year

Support Employees of the Year

  • Katelyn Egan, Para Pro at Dan Mills Elementary School
  • Elaine Frost, Audit Training Specialist in the Finance Department at the MNPS Support Hub
  • Sherry Hill, Data Analysis Assistant at MNPS Virtual School

Principals of the Year

  • Justin Uppinghouse, John B. Whitsitt Elementary School
  • Dr. Chara Rand, Isaac Litton Middle School
  • Dr. Brian Mells, Whites Creek High School

“Every student has the opportunity to be known because of the work that you do,” Melissa Roberge, MNPS Chief of Human Resources and General Counsel, said to start the evening. “And we know because you are in this room that nobody does it better.”

Event Program

Download the event program for a full list of winners.

Featured News
Teachers,Principals,Support Employees,Teacher of the Year,Team MNPS

Photographs of the Winners and Event

Teacher of the Year 2022
Teachers of the Year at Each School